Geography Year 6 India



Key Facts



- The Republic of India is in the continent of Asia.
- The term 'Indian Subcontinent' is used to describe this area of South East Asia as it is a distinct landmass.
- The capital city of India is New Delhi.
- India is divided into 28 states and 8 union territories.
- There are over 20 different languages spoken in India including Hindi, Bengali and English.
- Hinduism is the major religion of India.
- India has a diverse physical geography including mountains ranges, plains, islands, desert and plateau regions.
- The River Ganges is crucial for India, culturally, economically and environmentally. It is around 2,510km long.

- India is a country with both extreme wealth and extreme poverty.
- India has many large cities with about one third of the population living in urban areas.
- 'Bollywood' is the name given to the world famous Hindi cinema industry based in Mumbai.
- Most people in India live in rural villages where subsistence farming is central to the way of life.
- India has three distinct seasons: winter, summer and monsoon.
- A monsoon is a seasonal shift in wind direction. It can cause heavy rainfall.
- Tourism is of great importance to the Indian economy and destinations, such as the Taj Mahal, are hugely popular.

Geographical Skills



- Name and locate the countries and regions studied and identify their main physical and human characteristics.
- Describe how locations are changing and explain some of the reasons for change.
- Describe and understand key aspects of human geography, including settlements, land use and economic activity.
- Create maps identifying patterns (such as land use, climate zones, population densities, height of land).

Key Vocabulary



- Urban
- Rural.
- Kolkata
- Mumbai
- New Delhi
- · Bollywood
- Taj Mahal
- Monsoon
- Elephant
- Hindi



