Skip to content ↓

The Early Years Framework

At Little Fishes Nursery, we strongly believe that for children to engage in their learning it has to be fun, creative, interactive and most importantly be based upon each child's individual interests. We want all children to develop a love for learning in a safe and caring environment and to work closely with their families.

Nursery children are part of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and Early Years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage of your child's development, as it helps them to get ready for school and to develop  across seven key areas of learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

This curriculum is called the EYFS Framework. You can find guidance about each of the different areas and information on how to support your child's learning and development in the parent booklet below. 

Characteristics of Learning 

Within the Early Years Framework, how children learn is considered to be just as important as what they are learning. At Little Fishes, we believe it is important to celebrate all children's achievements.

We use the following four playful characters to help the children relate to their learning: 

Tough Tortoise - I keep on trying

Team Ant - I work as a team

Sensible Squirrel - I will listen carefully

Concentrating Crocodile - I join in and concentrate 

Journey togetherGuided by GodTo do the best we can